Viv Albertine - The Vermilion Border RSD19

Regular price £23.99
Tax included.

After twenty five years away from music, Viv Albertine, former guitarist and songwriter with The Slits, releases her first solo album, The Vermilion Border. Featuring a different bass player on each track and reunites Viv with Mick Jones of The Clash, who plays guitar on the song Confessions of a MILF. The featured players are; Jack Bruce (Cream), Jenny Lee Lindberg (Warpaint), Tina Weymouth (Talking Heads), Wayne Nunes (Tricky), Glen Matlock (The Sex Pistols), Richard Pike (PVT - Warp Records), Dennis Bovell, Norman Watt Roy (Blockheads, Wilko) and Danny Thompson (Nick Drake, John Martin, Pentangle). Viv's former group, The Slits, were one of the first bands from the 'punk' era to draw on and tour with - different musical genres, and filter them through their music, especially reggae, improvised jazz and free improvisation. The band are considered to be the forerunners of 'post punk' and the riot grrrl movements and they - and Viv's guitar playing - have also been cited as an influence on many bands as diverse as Gang of Four, Sonic Youth, The Beastie Boys, Tricky and Massive Attack, to new bands such as Chapter 24 and Warpaint. 

Format / LP for Record Store Day 2019
Label / Cadiz 
Cat No / 0844493061731
Genre / Rock
Release date / 13 April 2019

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us at and we'll try our best to get it in stock